MoneyMatters101.com Home
Information About Politics

Barack Obama
Democrat Party
Democrat Facts
Democrat Presidents
Does My Vote Count?
General Election
GOP Facts
GOP History
John F. Kennedy
Primary Elections
Republican Party
Republican President
Richard Nixon
The Reagan Library


Email Us

Family/Medical Leave
Making Changes
Social Security

Sen. Barack Obama
Sen. John McCain


Republican Presidents

Since 1861, the year Abraham Lincoln began his first term as President of the United States, there has been more Republicans elected to the presidency than from all the other political parties.

Traditionally, the Republican party has gotten it's broadest support for it's presidential candidates from the north, northeast, and midwestern sectors of the country, but since the mid 1900's, that support has come mainly from the south and western regions.

Most of the elected Republican presidents, ending with Calvin Coolidge, were from the north or midwest. After the election of Herbert Hoover, who was from California, most have been either from the west or the southwest.

Listed below are their names and the years in which each served as president.

  • Abraham Lincoln (1861-1865)*
  • Andrew Johnson (1865-1869)**
  • Ulysses S. Grant (1869-1877)
  • Rutherford B. Hayes (1877-1881)
  • James A. Garfield (1881-1881)***
  • Chester A. Arthur (1881-1885)****
  • Benjamin Harrison (1889-1893)
  • William McKinley (1897-1901)*****
  • Theodore Roosevelt (1901-1909)******
  • William H. Taft (1909-1913)
  • Warren G. Harding (1921-1923)*******
  • Calvin Coolidge (1923-1929)********
  • Herbert Hoover (1929-1933)
  • Dwight D. Eisenhower (1953-1961)
  • Richard M. Nixon (1969-1974)*********
  • Gerald Ford (1974-1977)**********
  • Ronald Reagan (1981-1989)
  • George H.W. Bush (1989-1993)
  • George W. Bush (2001-2009)
  • *Abraham Lincoln was assassinated after being re-elected to a second term. Lincoln was first president to be killed in office.

    **Andrew Johnson was elected on the Union ticket as Lincoln's vice president and became president after Lincoln was assassinated. He was impeached but later acquitted by the senate. Was not re-elected.

    ***James Garfield was assassinated on July 2, 1881 after serving only 6 months and 15 days as president.

    ****Chester A. Arthur succeeded to the presidency after the assassination of James Garfield. Arthur lost his re-election bid. .

    *****William Mckinley won re-election for a second term but was shot on September 5, 1901 and died eight days later on September 12.

    ******Theodore Roosevelt succeeded William McKinley to the presidency on September 12, 1901 after Mckinley was assassinated. Roosevelt won re-election in 1905. Of all his accomplishments as president, Roosevelt is best known for lending his name to the teddy bear.

    *******Warren G. Harding died in San Francisco on August 2, 1923 at age 57.

    ********Calvin Coolidge succeeded Warren G. Harding to the Presidency after Harding died of a heart attack. Coolidge won re-election in 1924.

    *********Richard M. Nixon, facing the possibility of being impeached because of the Watergate Scandal, resigned the presidency on August 9, 1974.

    **********Gerald Ford was appointed to the Vice Presidency because of the resignation of Spiro T. Agnew, who would later plead no contest to charges of money laundering and income tax evasion. On August 9, 1974 due to the resignation of Richard Nixon, Ford assumed the Presidency, becoming the 38th President of the United States.

Book of the Month

Book about investing

Advertise on MoneyMatters101.com



Accessibility Policy| Terms Of Use| Privacy Policy| Advertise with Us| Contact Us

Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use.

We are looking to create more mutually beneficial partnerships. If you are interested in partnering with MoneyMatters101.com, send us your proposal.


Link to MoneyMatters101.com